The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey

If I had been watching this story as a movie instead of reading it I would have spent a quarter of the time with my eyes tight shut and my hands over my ears. I avoid thrillers for this exact reason, I get so scared, it’s rather ridiculous.I decided to step out of my comfort zone and try, and I was not disappointed at all. I was left feeling cold, and a sense of deep disturbance in my balanced little world. Obviously this book is very well written, taken from different characters perspectives. Their personalities, relationships with each other and themselves develop and change through the book in entirely realistic ways. You just know there is no happy ending here, there is perhaps a tolerable ending to look forward to. You’re not entirely sure how deep the rabbit hole goes, but you do know is going to be very dark and a torch will probably only make it worse.
It is an excellent thriller, it kept me fully engrossed until I put the book down, relieved as I was, that I could finally extract my mind out of the horror of an apocalyptic future that would have to be extremely different from anything that the world has ever known just to survive. Dr Caldwell was frightening simply because I could not relate to her, her single-mindedness was more inhumane than Melanie, who was the key character. She was essentially the heroine, making the best out of a completely stuffed up world and paving a way to make things better. This book took me about a day to read and it will probably take a few more days to fully leave that world of ‘hungries’, ‘e-blockers’, and danger round every corner. I won’t be able to look at a mushroom the same way again.
