Bream Community Library



Dagger in the Library Longlist


The Longlist

The longlist of the CWA 2017 Dagger in the Library has been officially announced, based on nominations received from 175 libraries across the UK and Ireland, including Bream’s – and now we’d like to get you, and your readers, involved once again.

Here is the longlist:

  • Alison Bruce

  • Andrew Taylor

  • Brian MacGilloway

  • Chris Ewan

  • C J Sansom

  • James Oswald

  • Kate Ellis

  • Mari Hannah

  • Nicola Upson

  • Tana French

Reading Group material is available from all of the nominated authors on The Reading Agency’s website, Reading Groups for Everyone, for a particular novel that each author has chosen, and there is also an opportunity for readers and librarians to rate the books.

Feedback received from reading groups via Reading Groups for Everyone will be a major factor in the judges’ decision as to who should proceed to the shortlist and the eventual winner. So all you have to do now is get reading – and rating.

Visit to find out more.

If you need further information, please email


Dagger in the Library

CWA Dagger in the library. Nominate your favourite crime writer!

CWA’s Dagger Awards – who is your favourite crime writer?


Nominate your favourite crime writer by telling your librarian. The deadline is 31 December 2016 so there is no time to waste!

Remember you can’t nominate a writer who has already won before, here is a list of the previous winners:

  • Elly Griffiths – 2016
  • Christopher Fowler – 2015
  • Sharon Bolton – 2014
  • Belinda Bauer – 2013
  • Steve Mosby – 2012
  • Mo Hayder – 2011
  • Ariana Franklin – 2010
  • Colin Cotterill – 2009
  • Craig Russell – 2008
  • Stuart MacBride – 2007
  • Jim Kelly – 2006
  • Jake Arnott – 2005
  • Alexander McCall Smith – 2004
  • Stephen Booth – 2003
  • Peter Robinson – 2002
  • Marian Babson – 1996
  • Lindsey Davis – 1995

Blog at

Up ↑